Skip to content

Digital Book Burning

November 13, 2009

bookburning460I was toying with the idea of buying a Kindle recently and decided against it at the moment, mostly for reasons of cost. But I can see advantages to the electronic readers. That was until I read this. I hadn’t realised that Amazon have the technical capabilities of deleting your bookshelf. Am I the last one to learn this?

Maybe this was huge news earlier in the year and I missed it, but is certainly worth highlighting again.

As our media libraries get converted to 1’s and 0’s, we are at risk of losing what we take for granted today: full ownership of our book and music and movie collections.Most of the e-books, videos, video games, and mobile apps that we buy these days day aren’t really ours. They come to us with digital strings that stretch back to a single decider.

Now Amazon says it won’t do it again. That’s good, so far as it goes.

 

image from here.

 

From → news

2 Comments
  1. Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too.
    This kind of clever work and reporting! Keep up the very good works guys I’ve you guys to our blogroll.

  2. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital
    to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement
    you access consistently rapidly.

Leave a Reply

