Skip to content

Things to do at the End of the World

June 15, 2009

Here are the full texts of the addresses given at the 2009 Methodist Conference last week. They seemed to go down well, though I must admit, number one in particular was difficult to prepare and deliver. Indeed, in the run up to the event I was keenly aware of the need for courage to speak these words, and unsure as to whether I had sufficient.

My fear, I think,  to do with whether or not I could speak adequately to the situation. But I also wondered whether there would be a hearing for them. To the credit of Conference, I think there was.

Things to do at the end of the World I-lament

Things to do at the end of the World II-buy land

From → Reflection, Theology

4 Comments
  1. Helen Sweeney permalink

    I was at Conference and I want to say to you that your “talks” went down a bomb – everyone I was in contact with was talking about you and what you had said – in a GOOD way.
    Sometimes we think the message will not be received the way we hope but I think that our responsibility is to deliver what God has given us, no matter what the response. i hope that doesn’t sound preachy because I am not a preacher, just an encourager. God bless
    Helen

  2. thanks helen. people were very generous at conference, which was great and made it a really good place to speak. sometimes ‘preaching’ to other preachers is hard – i know i’m not always the best listener – but i didn’t experience that at conference. it was great.

  3. Thanks for posting these Glenn – interesting stuff, loved reading some Wendell Berry this morning, haven’t read ‘the mad farmer…’ for ages!

  4. asharedadventure permalink

    Interesting concept Glenn, hadn’t thought about the need or importance of lament before. I think it’s important that your talks highligted the need for balance, and the danger of extremes. It would be difficult to live today as if the hoped-for future had already come, to demonstrate hope despite the evidence we see, and to live as though we believe that because of Jesus ‘it is finished’, evil has been conquered, if we are focusing on lamenting and weeping. You make great points about the strength and healing that lament can bring. It does make us take a realistic look at what is happening, which in turn helps us to not only take ownership, but makes us take time to get an insight into what others are going through. Really good point about our witness being relevant in the world, that’s a big issue for the church and christians on an individual level. I know personally, there is a tendency to have christian friends, spend time in Christian activities etc and this can make us uncomfortable and irrelevant in the world around us. I guess lament brings us down a notch to aknowledge where people are at and close that gap. Great post, thanks Glenn.

Leave a Reply

