Skip to content

I am a Traditional Christian….but – redivivus

July 12, 2008

I’m going to be off-line for an indeterminate period, laid up in the Mater Clinic in Dublin undergoing heart surgery (as one does!). So rather than leave the blog dormant, I thought I would trawl through the archives for some posts I like, or which got a particular reaction from my reader!

This one was posted originally on 6 October 2006.

***********************

I go to a fairly standard, utterly recognisable Presbyterian church. We do lots of things that used to irritate the life out of me but like our neutered labrador I’m pretty chilled about now. There is however one thing that can still get a rise out of me and that’s talk about spiritual gifts. Against my better judgment I recently got involved in a pretty intense, though respectable conversation (remember we are Presbyterians) on the issue.

I am almost convinced that we have allowed the current structures of church to dictate our interpretation of Paul’s writing on the matter in places like Ephesians 4. We talk about Paul’s imagery of everyone one of us being part of a body, hands, eyes, legs etc., when what we really mean is that everyone of us is a cog in the machine. We thus interpret the scripture in such a way as to serve the current operation, rather than allowing the scripture to critique our set-up. The ultimate priority is to keep the established institution going.

We help you discover how many teeth are in your cog, then we slip you in to the machinery, often as a replacement for another cog which has worn out. We tell you you have a spiritual gift which must be exercised in the service of this local institution and if you are not operating in your area of gifting then the whole lot of us are suffering.

Let me say a couple of things.

1. Spiritual gift inventories are of the devil! Is that plain enough?
2. I think we confuse gifts and service, and in my mind service has priority over gifts. Some things just need to be done, and waiting on someone gifted to do it lets some of the lazy ones off the hook. I shouldn’t be hanging about waiting to discover, or be told, what my gift is, I need to get serving.
3. Current teaching on gifting perpetuates the notion of the church as a separated community, outside of the stuff of the world. So we tell you that your gift is in the service of the church resulting in an introverted community whose function is increasingly to protect its members from a nasty world.

From → Reflection

2 Comments
  1. Mitch K permalink

    I thought that I had read all your posts, but must have missed this one, which is splendidly spot on. . . There is great faith in ‘spiritual gifts inventories’ here in the states too, and certainly in some of the circles I find myslef in, and I have always been uneasy about their triumphal proclamations. And you are right, we would be way better off if we emphasized service first. . . . (And happy July 12th from Orange City, Iowa! Don’t worry, no political overtones to our “Orange,” all anyone here knows is that it is somehow Dutch. . . )

  2. I agree the teaching on gifts goes wrong right at the beginning when we confuse “member” (meaning unique individual) with “cog” (meaning one just like any other). I don’t think we can get past the industrial revolution’s impact on our language and still use the term member. I would say there is a place for finding the unique call God has on our lives, but chances are that isn’t handing out flyers at church — more likely it’s serving someone out in the wider community.

Leave a Reply

