Skip to content

Born (too late) to Run? I don’t think so.

May 15, 2008

In just over a week I’ll be in Dublin with some friends, 30,000 actually, for the next leg of Springsteen’s ‘Radio Nowhere’ tour. Let’s just say, I’m a fan.

This isn’t Springsteen, but it is McFly, to whom my daughter is devoted. They did this version of Born to Run in the Radio 1 Live Lounge, and I think it’s brilliant. Seriously! And I’ll tell you why.

Firstly, BTR is rock royalty and thus hard to cover. And it has the greatest 1-2-3-4 in rock and roll history (…highway’s jammed with broken heroes…) McFly tackle it though, not as arrogant, cocky youngsters who think they can do anything. Rather they go at it as fans, and in doing so they respect the Boss. I love the energy in their version. But what particularly endears them to me here is their sheer relief at the end, expressed in a huge roar, that they nailed it. They didn’t embarrass themselves. They honoured the place of that song and it’s history.

My daughter downloaded the MP3 for me and it’s now on my ipod, alongside a variety of versions of this song.

There’s my confession of the day MH! I have McFly on my ipod.

From → Music

4 Comments
  1. Excellent. What night are you going? I’m heading down for Thursday night’s gig. Cant wait. Do you still have the setlists and all that?

  2. we’re down for thursday as well. i’ll email you the location of the pre-show fan party. always worth a visit.

    i’ve been following the setlists online and the best you can say is that it’s unpredictable. lots of golden oldies as they remember danny federici. so who knows. whatever they play it’ll be brilliant

  3. Roger Nelson permalink

    Glenn, Great post. I don’t know a thing about McFly but as a faithful reader of your blog and a Bruce fan ~ this was a delightful little gift. Thanks.
    Rog Nelson ~ Mitch Kinsingers Friend…

  4. hey roger…nice to hear from you again. Glad you enjoyed McFly, they’re a boy band over here who play their own instruments and write their own songs! My 12 year old adores them. The main guy in the video is a Springsteen nut (apparently) and has a Bruce tattoo on some part of his anatomy – I’m afraid to ask Phil which part.

    How’s that brew pub of your wife’s btw?

Leave a Reply

